Inside the minds of our minders

In the course of writing a couple of blogs about Grant Robertson (here and here), I’ve repeatedly come across the image below:

Screenshot 2014-11-03 19.06.09

I’m not sure why, but I find the image disturbing. Maybe it’s the mediocre photoshop job or fact that their smiles look like blatant photo smiles, or maybe it’s the odd line in the background; something looks a bit off.

Something about this picture makes Grant and Jacinda look like they were designed by aliens to appeal to humans (assuming they are not reptilian shapeshifters themselves). What on earth were they thinking when this picture was taken?

This got me thinking: what was going through the heads of National MPs when they had their official photos taken? Because some of them are pretty average.

So without further ado, here are some official pictures of National MPs wth their actual thoughts at the moment their picture was taken:

"People DEFINITELY know who I am."

“People DEFINITELY know who I am.”

"Real smiled, Paula. They have to be authentic. Judith Collins. Judith Collins. Judith Collins."

“Real smiles, Paula, they have to be authentic. Go to your happy place. *Judith Collins. Judith Collins. Judith Collins*”

"No, the job was Shane's idea, I swear"

“No, the job was Shane’s idea, I swear.”

"I have literally no idea what I am doing here."

“I literally have no idea what I am doing.”

"And then I told them I was a blue green!"

“And then I told them I was a blue green!”

"I can't believe I'm the Minister of Trade and people still make fun of my last name."

“I can’t believe I’m the Minister of Trade and people still make fun of my name.”

"I can't believe there are no teachers to make me wear a tie! I'm DEFINITELY voting National when I turn 18."

“I’m TOTES voting National when I turn 18.”

Screenshot 2014-11-03 22.15.17

[incomprehensible language spoken only in the depths of hell]

Leave a Reply

