Why I am on the left: class and gender

Post I did for ontheleftnz.com

On The Left

@aaronincognito is an anonymous soulless bureaucrat who blogs at fundamentallyuseless.wordpress.com.

One of my earliest memories is of quiet, gnawing fear. I must have been about four years old, and I was lying in bed, waiting to be tucked in by my father. I drew up the courage to ask him a question that frightened me:

“Dad, when I grow up, do I have to join the army?”

I remember him laughing, “No, of course not.”

“Good,” I replied. “I don’t like killing things.”

I had convinced myself that little boys have to join the military and get yelled at by scary men.

the first two cells of my left wing values: aversion to harming others, and fear of cruel authority

Looking back at this episode, I see the first two cells of my left wing values: aversion to harming others, and fear of cruel authority. As I got older…

View original post 741 more words

Leave a Reply

